d3.js In Action Studygroup - chapter 1 #d3jsia



A few months ago I started the #knightD3 D3 and information visualization course through the Knight Centre of Journalism, by Alberto Cairo and Scott Murray. As we got to the end a feeling of "where to go next" was arising and @shuofeng_fs luckily had the brilliant idea of creating a Slack group for those interested from this course as well as some other folks from her network. So far there already has been some good information sharing, design and code review and just fun and interesting chatter going on. But a while ago I believe it was @M_G_Chox who suggested to all (who were interested) go through another D3 book together.

-UPDATE: @M_G_Chox noted @wai-yin (slack-name) and @shuofeng_fs were the ones who came up with the idea! -

I was considering buying @Elijah_Meeks book "d3.js IN ACTION" so when that was the book of choice for this group I was excited to say the least. We started this week on chapter one, and I intend to track my progress through blogposts as I did with my previous courses. Chapter 1 did not have an exercise but was more of an introduction with examples. I found it very intresting how things started making sense having some expreience with d3 now, but also because of the different approach of teaching.

As there is no exercise or submission to share I decided to list the items that stand out for me (aha!) for later reference. If someone finds it useful: even better! But keep in mind this is not a full summary of the whole chapter.